a day at my favorite coffee house

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset
Peace and quiet – sometimes that’s just what we need. The chance to immerse ourselves in nature to think, write, and reflect with no distractions. Yesterday I took a little trip to my favorite coffee shop, Hidden House Coffee, in search of some good old fashioned alone time. I brought two books along with me (as well as my journal) that I have been loving recently: Into the Wild and Walden, or Life in the Woods. The rest of this post is filled with quotes taken from these books that have inspired me and some random journal entries from the past few weeks. Hope you enjoy!

“If the day and the night are such that you greet them with joy, and life emits a fragrance like flowers and sweet-scented herbs, is more elastic, more starry, more immortal, – that is your success. All nature is your congratulation, and you have cause momentarily to bless yourself… The true harvest of my daily life is somewhat as intangible and indescribable as the tints of morning or evening. It is a little star-dust caught, a segment of the rainbow which I have clutched.”
– Henry David Thoreau, Walden, or Life in the Woods
Processed with VSCO with m5 preset“The very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure. The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, fore each day to have a new and different sun.”
– Christopher McCandless

August 5, 2017
I want to be able to go on cross country road trips and have spontaneous bonfires at the beach with my man. Those are my ideal dates; I’d much much rather go for a hike than have dinner at some fancy restaurant.

“I grew up exuberant in body but with a nervy, craving mind, It was wanting something more, something tangible. It sought for reality intensely, always as if it were not there.”
– John Menlove Edwards, Letter From a Man

“I have always been unsatisfied with life as most people live it. Always I want to live more intensely and richly.”
– Everett Ruess, excerpt from a letterProcessed with VSCO with m5 preset“Everything has changed suddenly – as if all your life you had been led by the hand like a small child and suddenly you were on your own, you had to learn to walk by yourself.”
-Loris Pastermak

July 31, 2017
I often struggle with forming emotional attachments to people too soon and too fast. It seems almost involuntary.

August 1, 2017
Playlist for the summer dog days:
– Hey Good Lookin’ by Blonde Tongues
– Stress Less by Roy Irwin
– Never Going Home by Hazel English
– 80’s Comedown Machine by The Strokes
– California by The LagoonsProcessed with VSCO with m5 preset

Leave a Reply

